Travel
Leave a Comment

Runnin’ Through The 6 With My Woes

Well fellow earthlings, it’s official. We made it through that disgustingly long winter, and are officially onto the best months of the year. With summer just around the corner the patio season has officially begun and things are really starting to heat up here in the North. 

This summer is going to be an exciting one for myself and for She Does The World. I will be staying locally for most of the summer (with the exception of an epic trip to Nashville planned for the end of July!) and I thought it might be nice to do some local travel writing about Toronto and the surrounding area.

I am sure some of you might be wondering what’s so interesting about Toronto? And I am sure some of you have quickly racked your brain for something you might already know about Toronto. Let me guess: Your knowledge of Toronto probably involves a certain crack smoking mayor who made headlines last year around the world. Well, the good news is that Rob Ford is now our former mayor and the new one appears to not have any drug addictions. I am about to blow your mind with this little fact about Toronto but the best part of this city is that it’s actually a really cool place that deserves to have an entire summer of writing devoted to it. Trust me.

As someone who has called Toronto home for four years now, I wish that I could say I was a bit more of an expert of this city. I hear about all these awesome neighbourhoods and cool events, and yet I rarely take them in. Toronto is known for being  a city that is so diverse and welcoming (just don’t ask Canadians who are not from the city to confirm that one), as well as unique in what it has to offer. I am definitely guilty of not taking advantage of what the city and everything that happens here as I tend to stick to my neighbourhoods that I frequent because of my home/work life. This ends here as I am determined to spend the summer finding the amazing parts of this city one neighbourhood at a time.

As I chronicle “The 6” this summer I hope you follow along. Stay tuned for regular updates on all the city has to offer. In the mean time, I’ll leave you with some cool facts you probably didn’t know about this great city of mine.

  • Toronto is the fourth largest city in North America. With the Greater Toronto Areas (aka GTA) population included, there are now over six million people living in and around the city.
  • Toronto is lucky to be located on Lake Ontario, which is one of the five Great Lakes in North America.
  • Despite popular belief Toronto isn’t as cold as some may think. With temptures often higher then 30 degrees Celsius (86 degrees fahrenheit) in the summer, Toronto is certainly hot as hell during the next few months. Sweating everywhere. That being said, sometimes our temperatures reach -30 in the winter, but that’s on the extreme end of things.
  • There are 140 neighbourhoods officially recognized by the City of Toronto. Ummm I have a lot more exploring to do then I thought I did ;)
  • The city has over 8000 restaurants. In some neighbourhoods it’s actually kind of hard to find anything but restaurants. So there you go foodies! Lots of options to choose from.

So now that you have a better idea of what Toronto is, I will finish this post with a video link to Toronto’s official anthem apparently. I am not going to argue this because it’s totally true. I can’t tell you how many times I have been runnin’ through the 6 with my woes.FYI according to Drake Woe’s mean his crew aka “working on excellence” so my post totally makes sense. Right?

Leave a comment