Travel
Leave a Comment

Where Words Fail, Kapuzinerberg Speaks

I think I woke up drunk still as I saw him putting on his shoes to head out of the hotel room. He made eye contact with me and asked “Want to come?” I jumped out of bed immediately because I owed it to him.

As we walked the cobbled streets of Salzburg through the cold on this 1st of January morning, I wasn’t quite sure what to say. The night before I had acted like a diva after a few drinks, and that’s just not what you want to do on New Years Eve with friends. We didn’t say much as we wondered around and I truly wasn’t sure what to say other than the fact that I was sorry. Awkward.

He somehow knew where he wanted to go, and I quite literally tagged along a few steps behind him. As we got to our destination, we walked through a little arch way and I saw where we were going. Straight up. We were going straight up that hill. And I, I was still hungover.

Despite that I huffed and puffed as I climbed up Kapuzinerberg, we made it to the top and all was right with the world. We were able to see the entire city below us, and some of the most breath taking views imaginable. With Hohensalzburg Fortress in the distance, and the snow covered Alps surrounding us, I knew that nothing else needed to be said between us. A view like this with a good friend can change everything.

We wondered around mostly in silence for about 45 minutes. Nothing else needed to be said because here we were, on top of the world, seeing Salzburg for the first time really. The smiles started to break out for both of us as we viewed the world beneath us. Kapuzinerberg made me feel incredibly grateful. Grateful for the chance to travel to such beautiful places with such beautiful people.

As I headed out the door that morning because of guilt, I had no idea that I would be taken to a place that could speak for me. I later learned that travel can do this to you over and over again. Some days, when I am feeling like I am not being heard or I am disappointed for whatever reason; I try to remember the day that we climbed Kapuzinerberg. To this day it still brings me the peace that I need in my life when I need that extra bit of help some days.

***Thanks for reading friends! This was a entry for a World Nomads and Lonely planet contest currently going on. Check it out here if you think you would like to apply!

Leave a comment