Life, Travel
Leave a Comment

The Day Uncle Franko Showed Us How Italians Live

Some of the best moments on a trip to somewhere new are the unexpected adventures and experiences that you come across. Those are the moments where when it’s happening, I feel like I am dreaming. This stuff doesn’t happen in real life does it?

With an instrumental version of “Wake Me Up” By Avicci playing over the airplanes speakers as we landed in Milan, I knew we were in for an amazing time. It was 7:30am and we had been traveling for almost 24 hours (long layover in New York = cheapest flight!). We were exhausted but beyond excited to experience the Italian lifestyle that we were sure to find.

My first lesson about Italy and how the Italians live, was that they don’t use the whole line system that I was so use to back in North America. The only way you are going to get service is by butting in front of the people who butt in front of you. And even then it can’t be incredibly difficult. My second lesson was that hotel rooms are not necessarily ready when they are suppose to be and that’s something you are expected to accept. You are considered the rude one if you complain about waiting for several hours for a hotel room.

Our first day in Milan was kind of a blur. Although the cheap flight was our best option as far as price, we were so sleepy that the day just sort of happened. I feel like I should recommend a day of rest if you do this, as it would have been the best thing for us. However, we only had a short time in Milan, and we needed to make the best out of it.

One of the girls who I was traveling with had an aunt (Vero) and uncle (Franko) living in Milan and they had invited us to dinner that first night we had arrived. We had no idea what to expect but once we arrived at their massive loft apartment near Milano Central train station, we knew we were in for quite the night. I knew the Italians loved to eat, but I had no idea how much they loved to eat. And to drink. So much wine. It was course after course of delicious food that I am not sure where I actually put. After dinner we indulged in some more drinking, including trying Palinka for the first and last time.DSC00041

As we thought the evening was about to die down, Franko asked us if we would like to see his work. He was the owner of a jewellery shop where he traveled the world, collecting stones and gems, and then selling them wholesale. It was a short walk from the apartment, and we got to see the beautiful side streets of Milan at night. It felt magical. When we arrived at his shop we marveled at all the beautiful stones and gems we could see…

Little did we know, Franko was about to show us something we would never have expected.

There, in the middle of his store, was a speaker system hooked up to a karaoke machine. Franko is a huge fan of Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, and Billy Joel, and he proceeded to serenade all of us with several of their songs. This was the moment where I felt I needed to be pinched. As if I was dreaming. Here I was, with some of my closest friends, in Milan being serenaded by an adorable older Italian man who sounded very much like Frank Sinatra. It was a beautiful moment that really made us realize that coming here was one of the best decisions we had ever made.

Lesson to be learned: I guarantee your trip will not always go the way you want it to. This is a wonderful thing though! Live for the moments that make you question if you are dreaming. They are definitely the stories you will tell your friends and family back home, and they are the stories your friends and family back home will be jealous of.

Embrace those Uncle Franko moments.

DSC00048

 

Leave a comment